Stronger Distracted Driving Laws in WA? | Seattle Accident Attorney

Thankfully, Washington State already has strong texting and driving laws.  A driver caught texting and driving will receive a $124 ticket, and that fine stays the same for the first three offenses.  Some might not think that is a severe enough punishment—and by increasing that fine with each infraction, Washington could be eligible for a grant from the federal government. A lot of people in our state agree that our laws are not strong enough—as a Seattle auto accident attorney I see how tragically common these situations are. The proposed law would make the first ticket $148, the second $248 and the third violation $372. These stronger laws could make Washington State eligible for $300,000 to be used for education about the dangers of using your phone while driving.

If these laws are enacted, hopefully it encourages people to think twice about their behavior behind the wheel. Driving deserves one hundred percent of your attention. When you take your eyes off the road, even for a second, you put yourself and everyone else out driving with you at risk. That is why we started Teens Against Distracted Driving—to help young people understand how their actions can affect others. You never know whose life may be forever changed by one mistake. Education like may be provided by this grant is so important in protecting people and saving lives—so do your part and put down your phone.