Connecticut Expected to Crack Down on Drivers Using Cell Phones | Seattle Auto Accident Attorney

| Blog, Car Accidents, In The News


Currently, 39 states, in addition to the District of Columbia, have banned text messaging while driving. And yet, it still is a prevalent problem that is costing people a lot of money, and in some cases, their lives. Connecticut is one of those 39 states. The offense is punishable by a fine that can come out to as much as $300. However, that doesn’t seem to stop a lot of people from doing it.

That’s why lawmakers in The Nutmeg State are reviewing a new law that would make handheld cell phone use a moving violation. The maximum fine would be increased from $300 to $400. But most importantly, law-breakers could risk being outed to the state department of motor vehicles. This would mean that the violations would appear on drivers’ motor vehicle records… making the information accessible to insurers.

We all know what happens when insurance companies get a hold of information like this: rates go up. While each insurance company, policy and agent is different, it is pretty likely that if this law were to be passed, drivers would face hefty increases in insurance costs. For example, if a driver were to get two moving violations, such as a speeding ticket and a “texting ticket”, his rates could go up by hundreds of dollars, in addition to the price he would have to pay for the fine.

What do you think about cell phone violations becoming moving violations? Is it about time, or overkill?

Seattle Personal Injury Lawyers: Premier Law Group
Average rating:  
 0 reviews