The state of Rhode Island has decided to take texting and driving penalties to a new level – license suspension. The Ocean State’s General Assembly has added driver’s license suspension to its possible punishments for drivers who are caught texting while behind the wheel. The change means that traffic tribunal judges can now substitute license suspension for other penalties or add license suspension onto other penalties. Now, first time offenders can be fined up to $85 for texting and driving and/or have their license suspended for up to 30 days. Offenders caught for the second time can receive a $100 fine and/or have their license suspended for a maximum of three months. Those who have committed the act and been caught three times can be fined $125 and/or have their license suspended for up to six months.
Drivers who are texting are 23 times more likely to get in an accident than drivers who are not. Distracted driving is a national epidemic that has been affecting Americans all across the country. Do you think that Washington should implement a license suspension plan like Rhode Island? Do you believe that it would be more effective than a fine?